A user cannot join a site that is being edited by an admin. Clicking on "join" under the site name in "Joinable sites" in the Membership tool has no effect, and no error message is shown as to why the site cannot be joined.
By contrast, if a user tries to unjoin a site that's currently being edited, an appropriate error message is displayed, viz. "The site is being edited. Please try again later."