From IU usability test: After a user selects 'Import into Oncourse' from the Google Scholar search results, they are taken to a screen with the options 'Back to Google Scholar' and 'Close Window'. Many participants did not understand that the citation had already been added to their list and were hesitant to go back to the results or close the window for fear of losing their citation.
To highlight the confirmation message:
Change the text to 'Citation Added to <title>'.
Increase the font size of the 'Citation added..' text.
Display the 'Citation added...' message directly above the buttons.
See Appendix 'J' of the Sakaibrary usability testing report at http://confluence.sakaiproject.org/confluence/download/attachments/32450/SakaibraryUsabilityReport_Final.pdf for a mockup.