Resources are set to Show (released to students) by default when they are copied from another site or uploaded. Instructors have to manually hide these items if they don't want students to have immediate access to them.
This is particularly difficult for instructors who are used to systems which hide content by default because they assume Sakai works the same way.
Additionally, there should be a warning in the UI of the Worksite Setup Reuse Content page and the same page found in Site Info > Import from Site to indicate the way this will work based on the setting.
Content imported from the Resources tool will be marked as hidden (indicated by gray text), meaning it will not be visible to site participants who do not have permission to access hidden content.
By default, 'guest' and 'student' roles cannot view items marked as hidden, although a site administrator can modify this default setting.
Content imported from the Resources tool will be visible by default, meaning it will be accessible to site participants like 'guest' and 'student' roles, although a site administrator can modify this setting.
Propose we add an option to allow the default to be reversed (hidden instead of visible) using a configuration option:
- Option to control the default hidden status of imported resources content
- Default: false
- Since: 2.10