As page owner, go to a page and alter permissions on it so that other users cannot edit it.
As bog-standard user, go to the same page, press edit, make changes and then press save. You receive a message to say that you do not have permission to save the changes.
This is clearly at the wrong point from the point of view of the user! You should be notified you can't edit before you start making changes...