The options to soft and hard delete are not functioning properly on 11x nor trunk.
On 11x, both the delete and hard delete option displays the hard delete message below:
Deleting a site removes the entire site's content and is not recoverable - no one else will be able to access the deleted site. If you are trying to remove yourself from the site, use the Membership tool in your Home to unjoin the site.
NOTE: You chose Hard Delete so these sites will have their tool content purged from the system.
Even if a site is selected for Hard Delete, it shows under the soft delete view within Worksite setup. Once the purge job is processed, pasting the URL back for the hard delete site shows it is still in the system, but I do see its resources have been removed.
On trunk, I see the message when selecting a soft or hard delete message matches properly to the action taken, but once again a hard delete site shows in the soft delete area on Worksite Setup. Once the purge job is complete, I can still access the hard deleted site.