"Display only to selected groups" is not checked when the user doesn't have the "asn.new" site level permission.
- Create a new course site
- Login as instructor
- Use this configuration at site level
- Use this configuration as group level:
- Try to create an assignment, you'll find this unchecked.
- "Entire site" is selected by default despite the user is not able to create assignments at the site level.