This is reported by Stanford (CW-2700):
Clicking the Add Attachments button in the Edit Question page before the question is saved, will wipe out the answer selection fields. All other information is maintained. If extra answer selections were added first, then the text from A-D are saved, but the new answer selection text is wiped out (E-G, for example). I tested this in a Multiple Choice, Single Correct question type.