If a user has uploaded a document directly to the lessons page, they might try to upload a new version by deleting the element on the page and reuploading, or using Edit > Change file. Both methods create multiple versions (-1.doc -2.doc), potentially creating huge numbers of files. The only way to replace a file is to go into Resources (“Upload New Version”).
Can we include this functionality as part of the lessons tool, when the user clicks on Edit? Below "Change File or URL", add a new link: "Upload New Version" and embed the functionality that exists in Resources within the lessons page, i.e. without jumping to the Resources tool). Just like Resources, warn if the file has a different name to the one it is replacing.