Uploaded image for project: 'Sakai'
  1. Sakai
  2. SAK-38291

Preserve customized data when editing link to a resource

    XMLWordPrintable

    Details

    • Type: (Deprecated) Contributed Patch
    • Status: RESOLVED
    • Priority: Minor
    • Resolution: Fixed
    • Affects Version/s: 10.0
    • Fix Version/s: 10.2, 11.0
    • Component/s: Lessons
    • Labels:
      None
    • 10 status:
      Resolved
    • Previous Issue Keys:
      LSNBLDR-432

      Description

      Our users have complained that when they edit items to point to a different resource path, any item customization (name, desc, open in new window, etc.) they have done is lost. There are several scenarios where this would clearly be undesired behaviour, such as when the user is re-linking a resource that has moved, or when the user has accidentally linked the wrong file.

      In the interest of preserving user-entered data, the attached patch checks to see if the item was customized, and preserves any custom name, description, and open in new window settings if so.

      Note that this patch may be at odds with LSNBLDR-123. However, I would argue that the system should not be deleting any user-supplied data without explicit consent from the user.

        Gliffy Diagrams

          Attachments

            Activity

              People

              • Assignee:
                hedrick Charles Hedrick
                Reporter:
                plukasew Paul Lukasewych
              • Votes:
                0 Vote for this issue
                Watchers:
                3 Start watching this issue

                Dates

                • Created:
                  Updated:
                  Resolved:

                  Git Source Code