Uploaded image for project: 'Sakai'
  1. Sakai
  2. SAK-41602

Drop Box still shows folders belonging to removed/inactive users

    Details

    • Type: Bug
    • Status: RESOLVED
    • Priority: Major
    • Resolution: Won't Do
    • Affects Version/s: 12.0
    • Fix Version/s: None
    • Component/s: Drop box
    • Test Plan:
      Hide

      Based on Proposed Solution Below:

      1. Add a student to a site with the Drop Box tool.
      2. Log in as the student and upload a file in Drop Box.
      3. Log in as instructor and go to the Drop Box tool. Check that you can see the student's folder and file.
      4. Go to Site Info and make the student Inactive.
      5. Go back to Drop Box and refresh the tool.  You will still find the student's folder and content present.
      6. Go back to Site Info and Remove the student from the site.
      7. Go back to Drop Box and refresh the tool.  You will still find the student's folder and content present.
      8. In Drop Box, go to Options and select the check box Hide the folders of users who are inactive or removed from the site.
      9. Confirm that on tool refresh, the removed student's folder/content are not visible.
      10. Add the student back into the site.
      11. Go back to Drop Box and confirm that the student's folder/content are now visible.
      12. Go to Site Info and make the student Inactive.
      13. Go back to Drop Box, refresh the tool, and confirm that the student's folder/content are now no longer visible.
      Show
      Based on Proposed Solution Below: Add a student to a site with the  Drop Box tool. Log in as the student and upload a file in Drop Box . Log in as instructor and go to the Drop Box tool. Check that you can see the student's folder and file. Go to Site Info  and make the student  Inactive . Go back to Drop Box and refresh the tool.  You will still find the student's folder and content present. Go back to  Site Info and Remove the student from the site. Go back to  Drop Box  and refresh the tool.  You will still find the student's folder and content present. In  Drop Box , go to  Options and select the check box  Hide the folders of users who are inactive or removed from the site. Confirm that on tool refresh, the removed student's folder/content are not visible. Add the student back into the site. Go back to  Drop Box and confirm that the student's folder/content are now visible. Go to  Site Info  and make the student  Inactive . Go back to  Drop Box , refresh the tool, and confirm that the student's folder/content are now no longer visible.

      Description

      In tools like Assignments or Tests & Quizzes, if a user has been made Inactive or removed from the site, assignments, assessments, etc. associated with that user do not continue to display for instructors.  However, in Drop Box, if a student's/member's folder has had any content uploaded to it, that user's folder continues to display when the user is made inactive/removed from the site.  This is contrary to user expectations based on behavior in other tools, and can also be a problem for instructors/maintainers in a large site.

      I have been working with a user whose project site has approximately 1200 members.  The site is used for student progress reports, and students only need to be active in the site intermittently (during semesters while they are taking classes in the department).  The site maintainers only want to see the folders of currently active users.

      Currently, the best workaround I have found to remove the extraneous folders is to delete the student's folder, thus deleting all its content (the folder automatically reappears if the user is made active in the site again). However, the site maintainers do not want to delete the content because once the same students are made active in the site again, the students and instructors will need access to those materials again.

      Proposed solution: Add a check box on the Drop Box Options page: Hide the folders of users who are inactive or removed from the site.

      When selected, this check box would make Drop Box behave like other tools, i.e., if a user is removed from the site, their folder and its content is no longer visible in Drop Box. The selection of the option should persist on tool refresh, and after the user logs out/back in.

      Additionally, the default setting for this option should be tied to a property so it can be set  easily at an institutional level.

        Gliffy Diagrams

          Attachments

            Issue Links

              Activity

                People

                • Assignee:
                  maintenanceteam Core Team
                  Reporter:
                  rainribbon Tiffany Stull
                • Votes:
                  2 Vote for this issue
                  Watchers:
                  5 Start watching this issue

                  Dates

                  • Created:
                    Updated:
                    Resolved:

                    Git Source Code