Uploaded image for project: 'Sakai'
  1. Sakai
  2. SAK-42073

Drop Box: Feature Request: Allow students to restore their own deleted files.

    Details

    • Type: Feature Request
    • Status: OPEN
    • Priority: Major
    • Resolution: Unresolved
    • Affects Version/s: 10.8 [Tentative], 11.4, 11.5 [Tentative], 12.0, 12.1, 12.2, 12.3, 12.4, 12.5, 12.6, 12.7 [Tentative], 19.0, 19.1, 19.2, 20.0 [Tentative]
    • Fix Version/s: None
    • Component/s: Drop box
    • Labels:
    • Test Plan:
      Hide

      After feature implementation:

      1. In a site with Drop Box and at least two students, log in as instructor and upload a file to each student's folder.
      2. Move each file to the Trash.
      3. Go to Trash and confirm that the files are correctly listed with the students' folders and you have the option to restore the files (leave the files deleted).
      4. Log in as one of the students and confirm you have access to a Trash tab at the top of the screen. Go to the Trash and see if you can see the file the instructor deleted from your folder (expected behavior depends on ultimate implementation - whether only files the student deletes should be shown or whether all files that were from his/her folder should be shown). You should NOT be able to see the file deleted from the other student's folder.
      5. Move the file to the Trash.
      6. Access the Trash and restore the file you deleted.
      7. Confirm the file is restored and available.
      Show
      After feature implementation: In a site with Drop Box and at least two students, log in as instructor and upload a file to each student's folder. Move each file to the Trash. Go to Trash and confirm that the files are correctly listed with the students' folders and you have the option to restore the files (leave the files deleted). Log in as one of the students and confirm you have access to a Trash tab at the top of the screen. Go to the Trash and see if you can see the file the instructor deleted from your folder (expected behavior depends on ultimate implementation - whether only files the student deletes should be shown or whether all files that were from his/her folder should be shown). You should NOT be able to see the file deleted from the other student's folder. Move the file to the Trash. Access the Trash and restore the file you deleted. Confirm the file is restored and available.

      Description

      If a student inadvertently deletes a file from their Drop Box folder, they have no way of restoring the file. This can be a problem if a student is sure they uploaded something that neither they nor the instructor can locate.

      I suspect there is a technical reason for this (such as that the Trash in Drop Box is shared among all student folders).

      This is a feature request to allow students access to a Trash folder specific to content deleted from their own student folder. Further, it might be good to only give a student permission to restore content they deleted (not content instructors/TAs deleted from the their folder).

        Gliffy Diagrams

          Attachments

            Activity

              People

              • Assignee:
                maintenanceteam Core Team
                Reporter:
                rainribbon Tiffany Stull
              • Votes:
                0 Vote for this issue
                Watchers:
                2 Start watching this issue

                Dates

                • Created:
                  Updated:

                  Git Source Code