Uploaded image for project: 'Sakai'
  1. Sakai
  2. SAK-42356

Removing "Re-use content" option to unify and optimize content import workflow for new sites

    Details

    • Type: Feature Request
    • Status: OPEN
    • Priority: Major
    • Resolution: Unresolved
    • Affects Version/s: None
    • Fix Version/s: None
    • Component/s: Site Info, Worksite Setup
    • Labels:
      None
    • Test Plan:
      Hide

      If this new feature is implemented, the following steps will allow you to test that it is working as expected.

      1. Log in to Sakai as a user with permission to create sites (e.g. admin, instructor).
      2. From the Sites waffle (or Worksite Setup) select Create New Site.
      3. Select Build your own site and choose course site, then choose a term.
      4. Select Continue.
      5. Choose to add either a course/section, or select the add courses/sections not listed above link as needed.
      6. Select Continue.
      7. Enter or modify the Site Information, such as language, description, contact, etc. if desired. (Optional)
      8. Select Continue.
      9. Choose the tools to be added to the new, blank site. (NOTE: The "Re-use material from other sites you own" section should NOT appear at the bottom of the list.)
      10. Select Continue.
      11. Select the desired Site Access options, such as publish status, visibility, access, etc.
      12. Select Continue.
      13.  Confirm the site setup selections and select the Create Site button.
      14. A pop-up message should appear stating that the new site has been created, and asking the user if they would like to add content from other sites they own. (See attached mockup for an example of this prompt.)
      15. When Yes is selected, the user is taken directly to the Site Info > Import from site page in the new site.

      (The above process should work similarly for creating project sites, or creating sites from template.)

      Show
      If this new feature is implemented, the following steps will allow you to test that it is working as expected. Log in to Sakai as a user with permission to create sites (e.g. admin, instructor). From the Sites waffle (or Worksite Setup ) select Create New Site . Select Build your own site and choose  course site , then choose a term. Select Continue. Choose to add either a course/section , or select the  add courses/sections not listed above  link as needed. Select Continue. Enter or modify the Site Information, such as language, description, contact, etc. if desired. (Optional) Select Continue. Choose the tools to be added to the new, blank site. (NOTE: The "Re-use material from other sites you own" section should NOT appear at the bottom of the list.) Select Continue. Select the desired Site Access options, such as publish status, visibility, access, etc. Select Continue.  Confirm the site setup selections and select the Create Site button. A pop-up message should appear stating that the new site has been created, and asking the user if they would like to add content from other sites they own. (See attached mockup for an example of this prompt.) When  Yes is selected, the user is taken directly to the Site Info > Import from site page in the new site. (The above process should work similarly for creating project sites, or creating sites from template.)

      Description

      Currently in Sakai, there are several different methods for copying/importing content into new sites. The "Re-use content from existing sites" option within the site creation workflow is not heavily used, and is both confusing and buggy. I propose removing that option from the site creation workflow completely and replacing it with a more streamlined workflow to use the Import from Site method of copying instead.

      Import from Site is a much more thoroughly tested and robust process, and there are some additional enhancements planned for this process, such as more granular selection of individual items, the ability to choose published status, etc. In order to take advantage of these improvements, the "create site" workflow needs to use the Import from Site service. This also has the added benefit of making the site import/copy process more consistent across the system.

      If this change is implemented, the option to "Re-use content" which currently appears near the end of the site creation workflow would not display. Instead, users would continue through the site creation process to the end. Then, immediately upon clicking the "Request Site" button, the user would be prompted to indicate if they would like to import content from existing sites into the new site. If the user answers "Yes" then they are immediately taken into the new site and directly to the Site Import screen to select the content to be copied. 

      Additionally, it would be useful if Sakai could automatically detect an instructor's first login to a site and ask the user if they would like to import content at that point as well. Selecting "Yes" would take the user directly into the Import from Site workflow as above. However, the first login auto-detect option would benefit institutions who create sites automatically, rather than faculty creating their own sites manually. This feature could have a property associated with it so that institutions could choose to enable or disable it as desired.

       

       

       

        Gliffy Diagrams

          Zeplin

            Attachments

              Issue Links

                Activity

                  People

                  Assignee:
                  maintenanceteam Core Team
                  Reporter:
                  wilma@longsight.com Wilma Hodges
                  Votes:
                  1 Vote for this issue
                  Watchers:
                  4 Start watching this issue

                    Dates

                    Created:
                    Updated:

                      Git Integration