Uploaded image for project: 'Sakai'
  1. Sakai
  2. SAK-43028

Resources: Creating multiple folders at one time does not keep group settings after the first folder

    XMLWordPrintable

    Details

    • 20 status:
      Verified
    • Test Plan:
      Hide
      1. You will need a site with a couple of groups
      2. Click on Resources 
      3. Under Actions, select Create Folders
      4. Create a folder for group1
      5. Click Add details for this item
      6. Select "Display this folder and its contents to selected groups only."
      7. Select group1
      8. Click Add Another Folder
      9. Click Add details for this item
      10. Select "Display this folder and its contents to selected groups only."
        • Currently, group1 is selected but I believe this is a bug
      11. Uncheck group1
      12. Check group2
      13. Click Create Folders Now

      Currently, only the first folder for group1 has access: "Selected group(s)". The second folder has access: "Logged in users". This is incorrect. The access per folder should be what you selected when creating the folders.

       

      Show
      You will need a site with a couple of groups Click on Resources  Under Actions, select Create Folders Create a folder for group1 Click Add details for this item Select "Display this folder and its contents to selected groups only." Select group1 Click Add Another Folder Click Add details for this item Select "Display this folder and its contents to selected groups only." Currently, group1 is selected but I believe this is a bug Uncheck group1 Check group2 Click Create Folders Now Currently, only the first folder for group1 has access: "Selected group(s)". The second folder has access: "Logged in users". This is incorrect. The access per folder should be what you selected when creating the folders.  

      Description

      Issue #1:

      Christina Schwiebert brought up the issue of group settings being carried forward to the next folder when creating multiple folders at one time. I believe this is a bug. Checking 19x, if one folder is assigned to a group and another folder is created at the same time, the user has to select the group for the second folder - it is not pre-populated.

      Issue #2:

      I believe is caused by issue #1 - group selection being populated after the first folder if that one had a group assignment.

      If the instructor selects group1 for the first folder and clicks to add another folder and selects to display the folder to selected groups, group1 is already selected. Unchecking group1 and selecting group2 seems to stick. If more folders are created, and display to selected groups, the next folder will always display the selected group name from the previous folder.

      After creating the needed folders, click Create Folders now. Back on the resources page, only the first group actually has the setting "Select group(s)" while the other has "Logged in users". 

      Obviously the permissions are incorrect.

        Gliffy Diagrams

          Zeplin

            Attachments

              Issue Links

                Activity

                  People

                  Assignee:
                  bergarvi Bernardo Garcia Vila
                  Reporter:
                  agschmidt Andrea Schmidt
                  Votes:
                  0 Vote for this issue
                  Watchers:
                  4 Start watching this issue

                    Dates

                    Created:
                    Updated:
                    Resolved:

                      Git Integration