Uploaded image for project: 'Sakai'
  1. Sakai
  2. SAK-43953

PA System: Modifing Banner priorities

    XMLWordPrintable

    Details

    • Type: Bug
    • Status: OPEN
    • Priority: Major
    • Resolution: Unresolved
    • Affects Version/s: 20.1, 21.0 [Tentative]
    • Fix Version/s: None
    • Component/s: PA System
    • Labels:
    • Test Plan:
      Hide
      1. Log in as Admin (or other account with access to the Administration Workspace)
      2. Go to Administration Workspace -> PA System
      3. Click the Create Banner button.
      4. Set up a banner:
        1. Random message 
        2. Low Priority
        3. Active
        4. Start time, end time, and hosts blank
      5. Click Create Banner. The banner appears along the top.
      6. Click the x to dismiss the banner. A Show System Alerts message appears temporarily.
      7. Click the Edit button for the banner.
      8. Change the message
      9. Change the priority to High or Medium and save the change.
      10.  Banner type is changed, but the banner that was previously dismissed does not reappear. This user can never see the new message.
      Show
      Log in as Admin (or other account with access to the Administration Workspace) Go to Administration Workspace -> PA System Click the Create Banner button. Set up a banner: Random message  Low Priority Active Start time, end time, and hosts blank Click Create Banner. The banner appears along the top. Click the x to dismiss the banner. A Show System Alerts message appears temporarily. Click the Edit button for the banner. Change the message Change the priority to High or Medium and save the change.  Banner type is changed, but the banner that was previously dismissed does not reappear. This user can never see the new message.

      Description

      If you create a banner in the PA system, you can edit the banner and modify the priority. 

      High priority banners can not be dismissed by the user. Medium priority banners can be dismissed for 24 hours, and have a constant Show System Alerts message. Low priority banners can be dismissed entirely. 

      If a user changes a banner from a low priority to medium or high, any users that have already dismissed the low priority banner do not see the modified banner. It's a slightly smaller problem when changing priority from Medium to High. The Show System Alerts box can be used to restore the alert and it reappears after 24 hours of dismissal.

      What is the best/desired behavior in this case? 

      1. Banner is changed to higher priority, but the previously dismissed banners stay dismissed (current behavior)
      2. Banner dismissal is reset when priority changes
      3. Banner priority shouldn't be editable - force admins to delete the old and create a new banner with the appropriate priority.
      4. Something else?

      The current behavior doesn't feel right to me - if an admin changes a priority from low to high, it would indicate that they don't want users to dismiss it. If they also changed the message, users who dismissed the first would never see the modified version. 

      This isn't a concern changing to a lower priority. 

       

        Gliffy Diagrams

          Zeplin

            Attachments

              Activity

                People

                Assignee:
                Unassigned Unassigned
                Reporter:
                cschwiebert Christina Schwiebert
                Votes:
                0 Vote for this issue
                Watchers:
                3 Start watching this issue

                  Dates

                  Created:
                  Updated:

                    Git Integration