Uploaded image for project: 'Sakai'
  1. Sakai
  2. SAK-44458

Site Info - User Audit Log - Tool dies after a user is deleted (no data displays)

    XMLWordPrintable

    Details

    • Type: Bug
    • Status: Verified
    • Priority: Critical
    • Resolution: Fixed
    • Affects Version/s: 19.5, 19.6 [Tentative], 20.0, 20.1, 20.2 [Tentative], 21.0 [Tentative], 22.0 [Tentative]
    • Fix Version/s: 22.0 [Tentative]
    • Component/s: Site Info
    • Labels:
    • 21 Status:
      Please Merge
    • 20 status:
      Please Merge
    • 19 status:
      Please Merge
    • Test Plan:
      Hide

      This problem will be resolved if, after the removal of a user that had a user audit log record is removed from the system, that any remaining log entries display.

      As the system administrator...

      1. Go to Administrative Workspace > Sites
      2. Create a site (project or course)
      3. Go to Administrative Workspace > Users
      4. Create at least two users (type doesn't matter: guest, maintain, registered...)
      5. Go to the site you created and use Site Info > Add Participants to enroll the two users in the site as maintain or instructor roles
      6. Go to Site Info > Manage Participants and change the role of one of the accounts so there is an additional action for the log
      7. Go to Site Info > User Audit Log and verify that the table of actions displays accurately
      8. Go to Administrative Workspace > Users
      9. Search for one of the two accounts that you created
      10. Click the link for the user account to edit the account
      11. Click "Remove User" and complete the removal process
      12. Return to the site and go to Site Info > User Audit Log
      13. If the bug is corrected, the log entries for the site should still display (at least the log entries for the users that remain in the system; I assume that the entries for the removed user would be hidden, but that can be left to the community to decide)
      Show
      This problem will be resolved if, after the removal of a user that had a user audit log record is removed from the system, that any remaining log entries display. As the system administrator... Go to Administrative Workspace > Sites Create a site (project or course) Go to Administrative Workspace > Users Create at least two users (type doesn't matter: guest, maintain, registered...) Go to the site you created and use Site Info > Add Participants to enroll the two users in the site as maintain or instructor roles Go to Site Info > Manage Participants and change the role of one of the accounts so there is an additional action for the log Go to Site Info > User Audit Log and verify that the table of actions displays accurately Go to Administrative Workspace > Users Search for one of the two accounts that you created Click the link for the user account to edit the account Click "Remove User" and complete the removal process Return to the site and go to Site Info > User Audit Log If the bug is corrected, the log entries for the site should still display (at least the log entries for the users that remain in the system; I assume that the entries for the removed user would be hidden, but that can be left to the community to decide)

      Description

      ISSUE

      After the removal of an enrolled user from the system (not the site), the User Audit Log in Site Info will no longer work as expected (the previous user history is wiped out?).

      BACKGROUND

      Sometimes professors may add a user with an incorrect email address, generating a "guest" account (if the system is configured to allow the addition of outside users). If an administrator cleans up the system, removing the bad account, then the User Audit Log in any sites that formerly listed records for those users will no longer work properly.  The tool displays nothing, even if there are other past log records that should display.  New user changes will display but the past history seems to be lost.

      REQUEST

      Provide a graceful process to allow the User Audit Log to function if a former member had been removed as a user on the system; don't erase the past history or provide a mechanism for the records of remaining users to still display.

      STEPS TO REPLICATE

      1. Create a site
      2. Create three users (type doesn't matter: guest, maintain, registered...). The number 3 is irrelevant – could be 2, for example.  Just creating so there are users to add and later remove.
      3. As admin, go to the site and add the three users.  At least one should be a maintain or instructor role.
      4. As the instructor user, enroll the other two users in the site (role doesn't matter; student, access, maintain, teaching assistant... whichever).  This step is just to have "real world" activity of an instructor adding/removing users.  The admin could do all of this as well.
      5. Open the User Audit Log, verify the enrollments are listed for the users (that there are records in the log displayed in a table).
      6. As an admin, go to Administrative Workspace > Users.
      7. Look up one of the three users
      8. Click the account link for the user to edit the user
      9. Click the Remove User
      10. Return to the site
      11. Go to Site Info > User Audit Log
      12. The tool can no longer display any of the actions.  It says, "Viewing 0 items" and all of the other actions for remaining users are not displayed.  The log is no longer functional for the previous history.

      NOTE: If someone conducts a new action in the site, e.g. adds someone new, then only that new record becomes visible.  None of the other historical log entries are available.  New changes to remaining users (that existed before the user removal) will be logged, but previous actions for those users seem to have been lost?

      Figure 1: Site Info's User Audit Log Before a User is Removed from the System

      In the following image, the system administrator account enrolled the three users (sample1, sample2, sample3 as maintain users). Next, the admin modified the roles for users sample2 and sample3 to access.  Finally, the admin removed the user from the site (but did not yet remove the user from the system).

       

      Figure 2: Site Info's User Audit Log After a User is Removed from the System

      In the following example, the user "sample3" was removed from the system. This is the resulting outcome in the User Audit Log. It simply displays "Viewing 0 items."  Although it makes sense for the records of the removed user to be withheld, it seems that whatever user lookup error is happening under the hood is preventing the tool from displaying log entries for the remaining users. That history is essentially gone.

        Gliffy Diagrams

          Zeplin

            Attachments

            1. 15Oct2020_stacktrace.txt
              12 kB
            2. 16Oct2020.gif
              16Oct2020.gif
              37 kB
            3. Round1.gif
              Round1.gif
              27 kB
            4. Round2.gif
              Round2.gif
              20 kB
            5. siteinfo-userauditlog-1a-before.png
              siteinfo-userauditlog-1a-before.png
              34 kB
            6. siteinfo-userauditlog-2a-after.png
              siteinfo-userauditlog-2a-after.png
              21 kB

              Activity

                People

                Assignee:
                agschmidt Andrea Schmidt
                Reporter:
                alanregan Alan Regan
                Votes:
                0 Vote for this issue
                Watchers:
                5 Start watching this issue

                  Dates

                  Created:
                  Updated:
                  Resolved:

                    Git Integration