Uploaded image for project: 'Sakai'
  1. Sakai
  2. SAK-44754

Lessons > Fix NPE on student content when group is deleted and related improvements

    XMLWordPrintable

    Details

    • Type: Bug
    • Status: RESOLVED
    • Priority: Major
    • Resolution: Fixed
    • Affects Version/s: 20.1, 21.0 [Tentative], 22.0 [Tentative]
    • Component/s: Lessons
    • Labels:
      None
    • 21 Status:
      Resolved
    • 20 status:
      Please Merge
    • Test Plan:
      Hide
      1. In a site with Lessons and groups, add a student content tool to a page, configured to be owned by groups instead of individual users
      2. Log in as a group member and add student content
      3. As the instructor, confirm you can see the content, then delete the group
      4. Confirm there is an indication of what happened to the group but you can still view the content
      5. Confirm you can delete the student content page for the deleted group
      6. Add another student content tool for individual users
      7. Repeat the above test, this time deleting a user instead of a group
      8. Add two more student content pages and change the name of one page so it no longer matches the name of the student
      9. Confirm that the student's name appears in parentheses after the new name of the page, but the other student's page has no parentheses
      Show
      In a site with Lessons and groups, add a student content tool to a page, configured to be owned by groups instead of individual users Log in as a group member and add student content As the instructor, confirm you can see the content, then delete the group Confirm there is an indication of what happened to the group but you can still view the content Confirm you can delete the student content page for the deleted group Add another student content tool for individual users Repeat the above test, this time deleting a user instead of a group Add two more student content pages and change the name of one page so it no longer matches the name of the student Confirm that the student's name appears in parentheses after the new name of the page, but the other student's page has no parentheses

      Description

      If a Student Content item is added to a page and configured to be for groups instead of individual users, adding content for that group and then deleting the group results in a NPE that renders the entire page containing the student content tool inaccessible.

      The fix for this issue will check for null groups and present a message to the user indicating the group no longer exists, while retaining access any content from the deleted group (the instructor may chose to delete the content later if this is desired). The following additional changes are made for consistency:

      • deleted users will also now present a message indicating such
      • page titles that match the name of the page owner will no longer be surrounded by parentheses (ie. a student page called "John Doe" owned by "John Doe" will now display as "John Doe" instead of "(John Doe)", while a page called "John's Page" owned by "John Doe" will still display as "John's Page (John Doe)")

        Gliffy Diagrams

          Zeplin

            Attachments

              Activity

                People

                Assignee:
                plukasew Paul Lukasewych
                Reporter:
                plukasew Paul Lukasewych
                Votes:
                0 Vote for this issue
                Watchers:
                2 Start watching this issue

                  Dates

                  Created:
                  Updated:
                  Resolved:

                    Git Integration