I orginally sent the following to the QA list. Our system administrator has investigated and would like to comment further:
In prep for our migration to 2.2, I compared the default permissions on our 2.1 production server with those on our 2.2 migrated server. One thing I don't quite understand is that in 2.2 a lot of the project site permissions are not editable by the maintainer - (eg, in 2.2 we see a checkmark, but in 2.1 we see a check in a box that can be toggled on & off). However, the permissions for course sites are editable. Did we not configure the system correctly when migrated to 2.2 or are these uneditable project permissions by design?