When creating a course site, there is on the page after selecting the term a field for entering another user's account name.
Currently Displaying Courses/Sections for (ID)
and there is an Apply button, and some explanatory text under the entry box.
There should be a sakai.property to control whether that piece of the UI shows up or not.
Some institutions may want to prevent this feature - they don't want users seeing the courses another user is teaching and/or don't have the mecanism in place to control which other users a particular user can input.
There is a question about what the default should be. The norm has been that new capabilities that don't harm existing functionality be set on so that the feature is seen in the OOTB experience. So I guess that means this should default to true and institutions that do not want the feature set it to false in their local sakai.properties.
This control has been suggested for 2.4 but I haven't made it a blocker, thinking that we wouldn't actually hold up the release for it, and that those who need it could make the patch that will be available by end of June (since we need it in our production). We might not be able to get it in for 2.4 due to scarce resources, but it should be available shortly thereafter..