[SAK-31415] Change the default configuration in sakai 11.0 so that when a site is deleted it is actually placed into a "recycle bin" - so called "soft deletion" of sites Created: 23-Jun-2016  Updated: 28-Feb-2018  Resolved: 04-Jul-2016

Status: Verified
Project: Sakai
Component/s: Content
Affects Version/s: 11.0
Fix Version/s: 11.0, 12.0

Type: Feature Request Priority: Blocker
Reporter: Adam Marshall Assignee: Core Team
Resolution: Fixed Votes: 0
Labels: None

11 status: Resolved
Property addition/change required:
Yes
Test Plan:

1/ set site.soft.deletion=true - go to Worksite Setup you should see 'Softly Deleted sites' in the "View" drop down list.

2/ set site.soft.deletion=false - go to Worksite Setup you should NOT see 'Softly Deleted sites' in the "View" drop down list.

3/ Remove the property site.soft.deletion from the properties file - go to Worksite Setup you should see 'Softly Deleted sites' in the "View" drop down list?

4/ Remove site.soft.deletion.gracetime property from the properties file, is it 30 days before a Quartz job clears the site out? (Clearly this is not easy to test!)


 Description   

Change the default configuration in Sakai 11.0 so that when a site is deleted it is placed into a "recycle bin" - so called "soft deletion" of sites.

The properties that control this with their proposed values are site.soft.deletion=true & site.soft.deletion.gracetime=30 (ie, 30 days before a Quartz job clears the site out)
.



 Comments   
Comment by Bernardo Garcia Vila [ 24-Jun-2016 ]

I've had a look and it seems right now it's always shown, even if the property is set to false.

Also I really think we should set up a default value for the bodyPathDeleted@org.sakaiproject.content.api.ContentHostingService, like it's done for archive or samigo. Otherwise this feature will be very confusing in my opinion.

Comment by Juan José Meroño Sánchez [ 24-Jun-2016 ]

Adam Marshall I thought that site.soft.deletion was related to remove "sites" not to remove "resources". I don't understand why you check site.soft.deletion using the trash in resources. You are able to see trash in resources when you can delete resources nothing related to site.soft.deletion.

Comment by Adam Marshall [ 24-Jun-2016 ]

As I understand it 'bodyPathDeleted@org.sakaiproject.content.api.ContentHostingService' is absolutely nothing to do with this Jira - that's to do with deleting content (ie, files). We're talking about deleting sites.

Comment by Adam Marshall [ 24-Jun-2016 ]

whoops, what idiot (it was me) wrote that test plan?! I’ll correct it. I think I cut and pasted from the wrong Oxford jira

Comment by Bernardo Garcia Vila [ 24-Jun-2016 ]

My fault for not re-thinking it before doing it. Sorted now.

Comment by Neal Caidin [ 13-Jul-2016 ]

I don't see any update on the commit to default.sakai.properties . Is that expected? I want to document the settings in the release notes. Thanks!

Comment by Adam Marshall [ 14-Jul-2016 ]

I'm not sure whether there should be a change to sakai properties. It all depends what the incumbent settings were.

The default is now to enable soft deletion unless specified otherwise in the properties file.

Generated at Mon Sep 16 08:05:05 CDT 2019 using Jira 8.0.3#800011-sha1:073e8b433c2c0e389c609c14a045ffa7abaca10d.